My Skincare Routine: Oily Skin

20160326_083238.jpg

If you’ve been following my blog for a while then you will know I suffer from oily skin and let me tell you guys, the struggle is so real!!! If you’re a makeup junky like me then you know oil and makeup are just not friends. I have countless stories of looking like a grease pot by 10am, makeup literally sliding off my face and so much more. The oil struggle is not easy, and you know when you have nose like mine, you want it to be anything but SHINY!

My current skin routine which I have tweaked and worked on for many years is finally dealing with my oil problem and I’m excited to share it with you guys.

First of, Facial Cleanser and Moisturiser:

20160326_083009.jpg

Ponds. Period. Guys, these products are no joke, they get rid of oil so well and the vanishing cream guys, my goodness! It mattfies your face whilst leaving it so soft and silky to touch. As if that’s not all, these products are super affordable, I think I paid around N$150 for both in Clicks. Also a little goes a long way. So how does it work? I wash my face twice a day (I try to,lol) with the Ponds Lasting Oil Control Face Wash using my Sorbet Facial Cleanser and I follow this up by applying the Ponds Lasting Oil Control Vanishing Cream. That’s it. No toners and what nots. Just one-two step (Hey Ciara!)

Before I even contemplate applying any makeup I use my L’Oreal Infallible Mattifying Base all over my face. This is one of my favourite primers guys. It has a silky finish (gel consistency) and not only does it allow for the makeup to just glide onto your skin, it is a super effective base and does not let any oil through! Even if I’m not applying any makeup I still apply this, it mattifies my skin which is all any sister with oily skin ever wants.

20160326_083057.jpg

That is all I do guys and I find that this really works for my skin. Some days (depending on how hot it is) I don’t even blot my face. I have never experienced a full oil free day…until now. Obviously this might not work for everyone’s skin but I reckon these products are worth a try. Remember using drying products on your skin actually makes your oil problem even worse because when your skin detects the dryness, its first reaction is to produce more oil to rectify the imbalance. So you want to use something that is specifically geared towards oil control.

I hope this was of some use to someone, our struggle is too real, lol!

 

4 thoughts on “My Skincare Routine: Oily Skin

  1. It was really of use to me.. i am jus so curious to know where you bought your facial brush… your vlog is really so informative ..i am following you right away

  2. Hello I know I’m late but I’m from the U.S. and I’m trying to get my hands on these products. They are no where to be found in the US. Can you help me?

Leave a Reply

