Flawless Foundation : A guide

flawless foundation1.jpg

Like any work of art, any masterpiece a flawless base is absolutely imperative. The same is true when it comes to your makeup.

So many times I’ve seen ladies flawlessy apply lipstick, mascara and all that but it either doesn’t stand out because their foundation is a mess, or something else crazy.

This post is gonna walk you through (picture a walk through a flower filled meadow.)how to ensure that you flawlessly apply your foundation, that it lasts and forms the perfect canvas.

Here’s what you will need:

Foundation steps

  1. A primer. The Kind of primer you use will depend on your skin, do you want to counter oiliness? smooth out large pores or just prime so your makeup stays longer. I have a super oily t-zone so I use this Mattifying primer from L’Oreal Paris.
  2. Concealer(s). I typically use two different shades of concealer. I use one that is darker than my skin to cover dark spots (sounds weird but it works), I use one that is a few shades lighter than my skin tone to lighten and brighten under my eyes. My favourite concealers are from LA Girl Cosmetics.
  3. Foundation (duh). Again, this will depend on your skin type, I typically use Oil free and mattifying foundations. Here I am using the Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation in Rich Cocoa.
  4. Powders. These are used to set your foundation and your under eye highlight. I also prefer them when I contour my cheeks because I feel like the more cream based products I use, the more my face ends up looking like a melting pot of wax. In the picture is the Contour Palette by Beauty Treats.
  5. Highlighter! This is one of my favourite parts of doing my makeup. I love some sparkle! This is the Elf Cosmetics Baked Bronzer in Maui which I use to highlight. (Too light to work as a bronzer for my skin).
  6. Foundation brushes. Your tools are so important, a good brush ensures a good finish. You can also use a Beauty sponge if you like but I love how my Real Technqiues Buffing brush applies foundation so I’m good.

Right.

So first of all you want to start with a clean, moisturized face. Then you apply your primer, making sure not to apply too much, and making sure to pat it nicely into your skin. Next I dab a bit of concealer on any dark spots, slightly blending it out. Then I like to apply my foundation by first placing it on the back of the brush and then applying it in sections by dabbing the brush into the foundation. You wanna take your time with blending here, really work your foundation in until you cant tell where your makeup free skin starts and where the foundation starts. You also want to make sure you blend it well into your neck, under your china nd into your hair line (the mask look is not cute).

Next you wanna take your concealer (lighter) and apply it to your under eye are, you can use a brush or a sponge. Just make sure you blend it out well. Then you set this with a translucent powder. Next, I usually contour my cheeks with a dark podwer.=, followed by my highlight along my cheek bone. I bring everything together by using setting it all firstly with a setting powder, then spraying my face all over with a setting spray.

That’s it. It’s really easy, and there is no need to fear foundation like the big bad monster! Have fun creating Masterpieces!

 
“Beauty is whatever gives joy.”

2 thoughts on “Flawless Foundation : A guide

  1. Pingback: Flawless Foundation : A guide |

  2. Pingback: Everyday Work Glam |

Leave a Reply

