DIY: Shea & Cocoa Butter Body Cream

PicsArt_11-03-04.22.58

This is an easy recipe for your very own body cream that just nourishes your skin, keeps it looking healthy and glowing, does away with greasiness and leaves you  (in the words of Queen B) feelin’ yourself!

Here’s a bit of context, After making it through winter and constantly fighting to stave off dry and cracked skin, I was at a point where I needed something better, something that works through the Summer and the Winter without me having to tweak it, change it or pay exorbitant prices. In comes Shea Butter. I’ve been using this miracle stuff for only like 8 months now, and previously only on my hair, which worked out great for my hair. Then I figured, why not whip up a mix for my skin, and what’s more I had some Cocoa Butter that I bought at the Old Biscuit Mill in Cape Town for about N$/R 55 for half a kilo. This mix was absolutely amazing, I love it, I’ve been using it for  a month and my skin has never felt better, it’s non-oily or greasy and it just works. period.

What you’ll need:

Unrefined Shea Butter

Cocoa Butter

Olive Oil

Your choice of essential Oil (I used Lemongrass)*

Basically I did not want to melt it down over the stove so I simply put it out in the sun and waited for it to become more soluble. Once it was slightly more workable, I mashed the cocoa butter in with the Shea butter, using a fork. I did that until it was all combined and mixed.  After that, I added the olive oil and whipped it all together till it started forming peaks and looked smooth and creamy. At this point I added my Lemongrass Oil for fragrance (I absolutely hate the smell of raw cocoa butter so I needed to mask it.) I whipped it for a little while longer and that was it. Done.

I poured it into a mason jar that I had lying around, tied a pretty ribbon on it and I was done.

*If you don’t mind the smell of the Cocoa Butter or the Shea Butter then you are more than welcome to leave out the essential oil.

**You can also add any other essential oil based on what you want it to do for your skin (e.g. stretchmarks, dryness, eczema).

If you are in Namibia then you can purchase all of these products at Hair Goddess Namibia

“Without courage we cannot practice any other virtue with consistency. We can’t be kind, true, merciful, generous, or honest.”

One thought on “DIY: Shea & Cocoa Butter Body Cream

  1. Pingback: Body Oil Goodness {Lipidol Body Oils Review} |

Leave a Reply

