Back to Basics Series: Concealer

I’ve had this idea to do a series of posts on basic make up, like literally, the concealers, the primers, contouring, highlighting and more. First on the list is concealer.

concealer or colour corrector is a type of makeup used to mask dark circles, age spots, large pores, and other small blemishes visible on the skin. Applying it under the eyes makes them appear more awake, and in a way brighter.

It is like foundation, but thicker and used to hide different pigmentation by blending the imperfection into the surrounding skin tone. It is normally applied after primer, but before foundation and used on the face.

You don’t want to get the application of concealer wrong, you don’t want to be rocking the raccoon look!

First of all,the trick with concealer is always picking one that is a shade or two lighter than your own skin tone. Depending on what you are using the concealer for, you can apply it before or after applying foundation. In my personal opinion I have found that once I have used concealer, I don’t really need to use foundation.

Basically what I do is, I apply several dots of foundation (I use a liquid one) under my eyes, I am quite generous with it. Then using a triangular sponge I blend it outwards, making sure I take it up right underneath my lower lashes and the corner of my eyes. I also sweep it all the way to my hairline just by my ears in a sort of upwards motion. If you find that using a sponge is difficult, you can use a concealer brush. So basically during my application of concealer, I look something like this (Keeping in mind that I am black and have better groomed eyebrows ;D):

Image

It definitely looks a lot like the raccoon, but don’t despair, all you have to after that is to take your powder and just blend it all out. The powder also just helps to set it.

If you would like, you can also apply concealer down the bridge of your nose, your chin and the area right under your nose, like so:

Image

 

Actually I think Kim K has got the whole concealer thing down! Like she goes from raccoon during application…

Image                                                                                       

…To awesome after blending (ok, yes she is Kim K and all that but y’all get the point right?)

Image

 

 

My favourite concealer is a Yardley Stick One in Dark, though I don’t use it much because it keeps breaking all the time. But Maybelline’s liquid ones is also really good.

And that is all there is when it comes to concealer, it’s one of my favourite make up tricks!

Till next time, when I come at you with the next part…we doing Contouring and Highlighting!

 

 

One thought on “Back to Basics Series: Concealer

Leave a Reply

